for travel’s sake

“I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.”

–Robert Louis Stevenson

This is my year of travel. After much careful thought, I have decided to take one year off of school to continue to work part time, and to travel as much as my schedule and wallet will allow. I have recently returned from a 7-day cruise, and have trips to Malawi, Africa (July) and Montpellier, France (October) planned.

I have a curious heart for this year. I know that travel is something that i am passionate about, so what I’m hoping for is either that I get the travel bug “out of my system,” (which i believe is highly unlikely) or i confirm for myself that I need a job that allows me to travel. I am trying my best to dive in head first, try new things, and have few expectations. I want to remain open to new passions and ideas, and to not be afraid to explore and learn new things within myself.

And so, I travel for travel’s sake. Because I am not content to sit still while the world is bustling around me. I travel because there are too many sights to see, foods to taste, and people to know to stay in the same place.

Here is where I will document my travels and the things that I learn through them. Thanks for joining me for the adventure.

mikaela

Leave a comment